Skip to main content
Music of the Americas
Search this Guide
Music of the Americas
A guide to many genre's of American music.
Aretha Franklin : Lady Soul
A history of American classical music
Crossroads : the multicultural roots of America's popular music
Visions of jazz : the first century
The history of gospel music
Music in Brazil : experiencing music, expressing culture
The history of Motown
The anthology of rap
West Side story : cultural perspectives on an American musical
Caribbean carnival : songs of the West Indies
Merengue and Dominican identity : music as national unifier
Music in the Andes : experiencing music, expressing culture
The anarchy of silence : John Cage and experimental art
John Philip Sousa
Nellie Taft : the unconventional first lady of the ragtime era
Hendrix on Hendrix : interviews and encounters with Jimi Hendrix
Say it with music : the story of Irving Berlin
Tito Puente : king of Latin music
Bachata : a social history of a Dominican popular music
The Brazilian sound : samba, bossa nova, and the popular music of Brazil
Girls like us : Carole King, Joni Mitchell, and Carly Simon--and the journey of a generation
Bob Marley : a biography
The big payback : the history of the business of hip-hop
Reggae routes : the story of Jamaican music
When the music stopped : the big band era remembered
How to rap : the art and science of the hip-hop MC
How sweet the sound : music in the spiritual lives of Americans
Every day I sing the blues : the story of B.B. King
Aaron Copland, ESL level 2
Classical music in America : a history of its rise and fall / Joseph Horowitz.
Women singer-songwriters in rock [electronic resource] : a populist rebellion in the 1990s
Appalachian spring [electronic resource] / Aaron Copland
Carlos Santana [electronic resource] : a biography
Encyclopedia of contemporary Christian music [electronic resource] : pop, rock, and worship
Cocinando! [electronic resource] : fifty years of Latin album cover art
Encyclopedia of indie rock [electronic resource]
Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians [electronic resource]
Born: December 01, 1945, Hawaii.
Current Biography (Bio Ref Bank), 1997
American singer and actress.
September 16,1925 in Bena, Mississippi
died May 14, 2015
Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, 2001.
American blues singer and guitarist.
Born: September 23, 1949, Freehold, NJ, USA.
Biography Reference Bank (Bio Ref Bank), 2009
American singer and songwriter.
Yo Yo Ma
October 07, 1955, Paris, France.
He is a naturalized American citizen and played at the inauguration of Barack Obama.
Source:Current Biography (Bio Ref Bank), 1982
Born: November 12, 1945, Toronto, Canada.
Source:Biography Reference Bank (Bio Ref Bank), 2010
Occupations:Canadian singer and songwriter.
Born: March 09, 1910, Pennsylvania.
Died:January 23, 1981
Source:Current Biography(Bio Ref Bank),1981
Born: January 31, 1937, Baltimore, Maryland.
Glass, Philip (Current Biography (Bio Ref Bank), 1981)
American composer and performer.
Born: August 20, 1923, New York (State).
Died: June 01, 2000
Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)
American band leader, composer and percussionist.
Born:January 08, 1935, Mississippi
Died:August 16, 1977
Chambers Biographical Dictionary (Bio Ref Bank), 1997
Born: Apr 17, 1957, The Bronx, New York
Middle Search Plus, EBSCOhost
godfather of hip-hop
Born:December 12, 1915, Hoboken, New Jersey
Died:May 14, 1998
Current Biography Electronic (Bio Ref Bank), 2000.
American popular singer and film actor
E.T.: the extra-terrestrial
Composer: John Williams
Star wars trilogy
Composer: John Williams
Composer: Bernard Herrmann
West Side story
Composer: Leonard Bernstein
Country Music Rocks
Todays Christtian Music
Pandora Radio - Marimba Chapinlandia
Music: Music and Religion in South America
EBSCOhost: Database: Academic Search Complete -- Publications
Jan 9, 1988 (Vol. 100, no. 2) - present
The Billboard (until 1960);
Billboard Music Week (until 1962)
Database: Academic Search Complete -- Publications
Bibliographic Records: 01/19/1984 to present
Full Text: 08/09/1990 to present
Music education technology
from 07/20/2004 to 11/30/2007 in Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
American Music Review
Database: Academic Search Complete
Bibliographic Records: 03/01/2006 to present
Full Text: 03/01/2006 to present
American Music Teacher
Database: Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Bibliographic Records: 12/02/2011 to present, with selective coverage back to 1983
Full Text: 12/01/1999 to present
Feb 9, 2018 10:48 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem